California Parks #1: Van Damme State Park

I’m currently taking a class that takes me on a bunch of cool field trips around the state to some amazing natural areas. Last weekend we went up to Van Damme State Park on the Mendocino Coast.

IMG_8740

We learned a bunch of trees while hiking around the woods. Here’s an Abies grandis… I think…

The beach!
The beach!

I went swimming in the ocean for the first time in my four years here. It was so cold I basically went numb after a minute. I only lasted about 5 min in the water but some people swam all the way out to sea. The water was pretty sketchy as well and there was a dead seal washed up on the beach about 100 meters away. At least I can say that I got to go to the beach!

Banana slug moustache
Banana slug moustache

I saw these guys coming down from our hike up to the pygmy forest. Aren’t they so cute!

Leave a Reply

